Hinayana Study Class


Hinayana Series: The Path of The Noble Ones

May 25 – September 7, 2015

Monday evenings from, 7 to 8:30 PM at Nalanda West
Contact: Stuart Horn:  stuarthor@gmail.com

Hinayana studies are the foundation for Buddhist learning. The Four Marks of Existence –impermanence, suffering, defilement, and egolessness — distinguish Buddhism from other religions. The Four Noble Truths explain suffering, the origin of suffering, the cessation of suffering and the path that leads to that cessation. In Hinayana, we also find a detailed analysis of ourselves, as individuals, and of the world in which we live. Furthermore, Hinayana teachings include the study of Buddhist ethics and society, as well as serving as a bridge to the Mahayana and Vajrayana teachings.
The teachings of the Hinayana represent the most original and fundamental instructions of the Buddha, which are central to everything that follows. Hinayana studies, therefore, are the foundation for Buddhist learning.
In the Nalandabodhi study path studies of the Hinayana continue are divided into two courses: The first course, Hinayana view, introduces the Hinayana as the indispensable foundation of the three-yana system (Hinayana, Mahayana and Vajrayana). The main elements of the Hinayana view are then presented in a detailed examination of the building blocks of the Buddhist science of mind. The second course, Hinayana Path and Fruition, shows how the view is applied dynamically through the practices of the Hinayana path, where techniques of mindfulness, concentration, and insight are explored in detail.

Course 1:  The Hinayana View

  • May 25 - Freedom, Renunciation, and the Three Trainings
  • June 1 -  The Sixteen Aspects of the Four Noble Truths and the Five Skandhas
  • June 15 -  Skandhas, Ayatanas and Dhatus
  • June 22 -  Dependent Origination (the Twelve Links)
  • June 29 - Practicum: Analytical Meditation on the The Sixteen Aspects of the Four Noble Truths
  • July 6, 13 -The Views of the Vaibhashika and Sautrantika Schools
  • Tuesday, July 14 – Quiz

Course 2: The Hinayana Path and Its Fruition

  • July 20 – Setting Out on the Path and the Practice of Nonviolence
  •  July 27 – Types and Techniques of Buddhist Meditation
  • August 3 – Practicum -Analytical Meditation on the Four Reminders
  • August 10- The Foundations, Types, and Obstacles of Shamatha and Vipassana
  • August 17 – Practicum: Analytical Meditation on the Five Skandhas Not Being a Personal Self
  • August 24 – The Paths of Shravakas and Pratyekabuddhas
  • August 31 – The Paths of Shravakas and Pratyekabuddhas
  • September 7 – Quiz

Cost: $50 per course; $25 for Nalandabodhi sangha members + cost of the books: $12 for binder, $13 for section inserts
Prerequisite: Introduction to Buddhism

To donate for the course online, please use the approporiate button.

Public: $50

NB Sangha: $25

The brief outline on this page is only a general overview of the Hinayana courses offered by Nalandabodhi. The complete detailed syllabus and selection of reading materials is available to Nalandabodhi members and participants enrolled in the Path of Study program.

Learn more about the Hinayana Curriculum by Clicking Here.

Learn more about the Nalandabodhi Path of Study by Clicking Here.

This entry was posted in Path of Study. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.